Prone to Hyperbole

You know what I miss? The good old days of just telling it like it is and doing what needed to be done.

The days where you didn’t have to develop a media saavy justification of everything you do in order to satiate the vocal minority of the mob democratically active populace.

Why do I lament so? Because of things like this.

The Navy announced today the decision to deploy the USS Freedom (LCS 1) in early 2010 to the Southern Command and Pacific Command areas ahead of her originally scheduled 2012 maiden deployment. According to Navy leaders, Littoral Combat Ships (LCS) are needed now to close urgent warfighting gaps.

“Deploying LCS now is a big step forward in getting this ship where it needs to be – operating in the increasingly important littoral regions,” said Adm. Gary Roughead, chief of naval operations. “We must deliver this critical capability to the warfighter now.”

Critical capability? Really? It’s essentially a test platform right now. If you want to take out, see how she runs, kick the tires, whatever, then go do it. You’re the CNO for goodness’ sakes. Do what you want with it, it’s your ship.

But don’t make up extravagent statements like one 50 knot ship is suddenly critical to the Navy’s ability to be a worldwide care package delivery serviceglobal force for good” because you just sound silly.

The fact that it’s deploying early is headline enough. Let’s not try to sensationalize things.

We are men of action, lies do not become us.

This entry was posted in Navy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Prone to Hyperbole

  1. virgil xenophon says:

    I’ve always believed that if one has to go around telling everyone how great one is……one isn’t.

  2. fastnav says:

    at the least, misguided.

    at the worst, full of fallacy.

  3. Menrad says:

    I am all FOR trying a craoemptonry worship service. But that’s not to say I don’t like the present form! When I was young I would go with my Catholic Mom to her service every now and then. I didn’t much care for the traditional style. But then they introduced a craoemptonry service that was much more to my liking. Mostly, I think, due to the music which was mostly done in a folk style with acoustic guitars and such. The music was happy and exciting and it formed a framework of jubilation that created the mood for the entire service. Emotions play a valuable part in worship; for the heart is never more sincere than when strong emotion is within. And when an exciting vibe is set by the music, for me, a more genuine worship can be sent out to the Lord. Of course music and emotions come in all different flavors. Some hit home most of the time and some don’t. Some are proper for hearts heavy with concern and some are best for hearts happy in the Lord. For me, most of the old hymns and tunes do nothing to lift my spirits or encourage worship. I even find it hard to concentrate on the meaning of the lyrics through the drone of the dirges. Sorry, a bit harsh I know, but most of the hymns just don’t do anything at all for me. So I would welcome a change to craoemptonry mostly for this reason.However, I don’t know about the rest of the service, that is, what could be more craoemptonry about it? I wouldn’t want to do without the prayers, the anouncements, the reading of the Word, and of course a rousing sermon given by one of our fine dynamic duo! How much more craoemptonry can that be made? I don’t know how it would all work out, but I would surely like to give it a try

Leave a Reply

