Brilliant

As my Grandfather would say, God Bless the Corps.

Turned onto this site via the Cap’n, and discovered this gem from America’s 1stSgt.

Funny thing about young Marines; sometimes they don’t “get it” until they actually commit themselves personally and professionally to our warrior culture. During their first enlistment they mostly gripe and moan about how they are tired of people telling them what to do and can’t wait to get out and grow their hair long. The idea that you can get a job on the outside and not have someone tell you what to do tickles me to no end and I never get tired explaining the concept that those who do not have a boss usually don’t have a paycheck either. The hair bit I can identify with though; I plan to spend my first 30 days of retirement not shaving.

Something happens to the Marine who recommits himself for another hitch though. I’m not talking about the ones who do it for an outrageous bonus or other bribery that some feel they are entitled to for reenlisting. I’m talking about young Americans like Cpl Byrnes who sported a mustache and pushed the limits of regulation haircuts right up until the moment he signed his name for another four years of honorable service.

When pressed about his new motivated look he responded that since he reenlisted he figured it was time to grow up and start acting like a Marine. Bless his heart.

I think the same goes for our young sailors.

You can always count on a 1stSgt to cut through the crap in life. Love it.

This entry was posted in Military. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Brilliant

  1. Niall says:

    Do you think any of this is generational as well? I work in the civilian world, but I encounter a lot of the same stuff. I see a big change in how young people today adapt to their first job in general. When I got my first job out of college, I was just so happy to have one. I didn’t mind taking orders or being guided on what to do. That’s how I became a professional.

    But the young people I’m hiring today – oh man! It’s like they are little gods at the center of their own universes, and how dare you tell me what to do or tell me I didn’t do something exactly right. And the need for explicit praise is off the chart, IMHO.

    I suspect part of the problem is that middle class kids don’t work anymore in junior high and high school, so this is their first real experience of work culture. When I was a teenager, everyone had a job after school. It was the norm, not the exception. I was a paperboy – in Alaska! And by that I mean delivering on foot, not being driven by mommy in the Lincoln Navigator.

    Different times, I guess.

  2. virgil xenophon says:

    Niall/

    It’s also the result of an on-going for 3 decades now at least, “self-esteem” movement where every kid on the team gets a trophy just for participating. I was a nationally ranked tennis player who went to college on a full-ride tennis scholarship. By the time my son was in Jr. HS (some 25 yrs ago) he had twice as many trophies as his Dad had EVER garnered in ALL sports (and I played on several championship teams in football & basketball) and never had won a thing on either an individual or team basis except in Karate.

  3. Niall says:

    I actually experienced the exact moment when that transition took place. It was between my junior year in high school (1975) and my senior year (1976). When I left school for the summer of 75, I left an English class where we wrote essays, read works of literature and had to comment on them insightfully. When I returned in the fall, we were doing “trust walks” and discussing our need for self-esteem. I hated it.

    Fortunately, however, college was nothing like that.

  4. fastnav says:

    I agree with everything said.

    There’s something to be said for playing dodgeball and learning that it takes work to not take one in the face.

  5. Niall says:

    It’s even better to have a paper route populated by drunks and wolf-dogs, where you have to deliver in 50 degrees below zero every day, and then go collect from them once a month. After that, doing pie charts for the boss is a vacation.

Leave a Reply

