Who Knew?

I had no idea there existed such an animal as the Hyman G. Rickover Naval Academy.

Turns out it’s a college prep school in Chicago, and they just graduated their first group of seniors.

The first graduating class from Rickover Academy, where all of the students are in Navy JROTC.

The first graduating class from Rickover Academy, where all of the students are in Navy JROTC.

Can’t lie. I kind of like the idea. Having read “The Rickover Effect” (which I highly recommend), I think that Rickover had some great ideas regarding education and training. While the execution of said ideas may have been somewhat lacking, and without his personal guidance those ideas may have transformed a little, I think the base idea of what he wanted is solid (legends of intermittent fits of rage and difficulties dealing with subordinates aside, you’ve got to admit the man got it done).

I like the curriculum of the school. None of that block scheduling crap that every teacher I’ve ever met who has to use it hates. Nope, they’re old school:

English 4 Years
Social Studies 3 Years
Mathematics 3 Years
Science 3 Years
Foreign Language 2 years of the same language
Fine Arts 1 Year
Music 1 Year
NJROTC 4 Years
40 Hours of Community Service

I especially like the Fine arts and community service requirements. I think an education in the arts, no matter how small a)provides the student with an outlet that can be relatively stress free and b) allows them to see that it’s ok to open your mind and experiment with ideas.

And the community service is important, especially in the current age of Generation “What’s in it for me?”

Good on them, and I wish them all the success in the world.

This entry was posted in Life, Navy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Who Knew?

  1. Niall says:

    I agree with you about the arts component. I also think training in fine arts gives you a type of problem solving skills that math and science don’t.

    I also like the foreign language requirement. In Alaska, where I grew up, we had to take four years of foreign language. That’s how I wound up learning Russian at a very early age.

    I’m surprised there’s no engineering component to the education. It’s kind of my pet peeve that we seem to have stopped producing our own engineers and now just import them all from India and China. That’s not just a strategic problem. Engineering jobs are some of the few remaining high paying non-service jobs left in our economy, yet our own citizens don’t seem interested in them.

  2. virgil xenophon says:

    Only diff. with my HS (also in Ill-class of 62) was
    4 vz 3 yrs of science (Biol-Chem-Phys-Gen Sci) and, of course, no NJROTC and req comm. serv. was an unk concept at that time. (Plus 1 semester of public health and let’s not forget the all-impt 1 sem. of Dr. Tng! 🙂 )

  3. Niall says:

    We had wilderness survival classes to pass as well, since this was Alaska. If you ever need to know the best way to kill a bear, drop me a line.

  4. Mahmud says:

    You did not work on it, or can’t do it.I work in the US for 5 years and back and work in a world class Ads agency in Thailand. I have seen and works on a lot of stuff. I agree Thai pelope and AE care too much about stylize. I make me sick everyday I hear their comment. They have not idea about design fundamental. Totally opposite when I work in the US, they strongly care about design principle no matter what projects are. All Typography are well structure, never let any un-editing work out to clint hand, because it show how civilize they are as a real professional not a student work.

Leave a Reply

