Whiskey Tango Friday

Can’t really say there’s too much to anger me today. Too much joy running around the fleet right now.

The Submarine CO / XO Screening results are out, so congratulations to everyone who selected!!!!

Blunoz has all the action here.

Also, a whole slew of Chiefs get to put a star on those anchors, to include all of the leading Chiefs on my old boat. Great job guys!!!

This entry was posted in Navy, Submarines and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whiskey Tango Friday

  1. Chap says:

    I met some XO nonselects who felt they got the leper treatment after the screening. I did better–my issues in making XOSS were more self-inflicted, being as I was beating myself up more than anyone else could–but it still sucked. Sub force has a bit of a habit of dropping its perceived damaged officers like hot rocks. I remember one guy who got cancer before reporting to his DH tour, and later remarked after recovering and advancing that the period where he was off the standard track was socially painful because people treated him as a pariah. I’ve heard lots of stories like that, actually. Surface guys may eat their young but the submariners eat their middle aged.

    So, I guess I’m saying reach out to those guys if you see them, both now and when you’re a senior dude.

  2. fastnav says:

    I’d say we have a habit of eating anyone we can. Not a healthy lifestyle, and we lose alot of talent subsequently.

    And will do, no worries. Having now been through it, I can totally see where it’s mostly luck on who gets through and who doesn’t, and no man is the better for having ended up on either side of the list.

Leave a Reply

