Know Your Role

Don’t get me wrong, I’m humbled whenever someone “big” in the blogosphere links to something on my blog. I’m surprised when someone like The Cap’n, Mr. Exum, or Chap even bothers to read my scribblings, much less comment or link them to their site.

And the sudden, dramatic increase in site traffic always makes me wish I had better content for the learned set to enjoy.

But lest I grow to enjoy the amount of visitations, you can always count on the old “Site Meter” to make sure you are properly humbled by your place in teh internets.

Glory is fleetin’ an all that.

stats

This entry was posted in Life, WTF and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Know Your Role

  1. Nixon says:

    It’s tough to make it into the big leagues, and you have to consistently write at least 3 well-written posts a day. I just enjoy bumbling through with the attitude that it’s a hobby.

  2. fastnav says:

    I hear you. This is definitely a hobby for me as well.

    But just looking at my site meter makes me laugh, so I thought I’d share 🙂

  3. virgil xenophon says:

    Shitcan the sitemeter and right what the hell interests you. Some alien visitor from another Galaxy 10 million yrs from now will find your surviving blog mired in the muck and think you were the smartest guy on the planet….

  4. virgil xenophon says:

    That Alien obviously won’t think “I’M” the the sharpest knife in the drawer by typing “right” instead of “write.” Pathetic. I think I’ll crawl back into my rum bottle now…..

  5. Edward says:

    This alien intelligence discovered your site due to the good Captain, and is happy to visit it every day in anticipation of your latest thoughts.

    Best to you!

  6. Kevin says:

    Yeah, I hear ya man. The few times Joel on TSSBP has linked to a post of mine, my hits have skyrocketed for about 3 days, then goes back down to the normal level. It’s much more understanding in my case because I tend not to write about Navy stuff and write more about my family. In your case, you always offer deep insightful commentary on big Navy topics, so it doesn’t surprise me when people like Lex link to you, and it won’t surprise me when the blogosphere considers you one of the big dawgs on the block. Keep up the good work!

  7. Chap says:

    Dude, you’re worth reading!

    I made a conscious decision to limit my appeal, both due to the nature of the effort involved and the desire to limit my visibility while on active duty. At one point I was on a clear trajectory upward…but I had other things to do. What I have now is a nice niche, where people can read stuff and I can avoid headaches. My Sitemeter looks a lot like yours these days, though!

    It should be interesting in my next job even trying to follow blogs much less post; I’m going to be in an Internet-austere environment for a while.

  8. Chap says:

    (That said, my ‘appeal’, such as it is, is pretty limited. Perhaps the better way to phrase it is “limit my posting“…)

  9. fastnav says:

    I completely understand the desire to try and stay “under the radar” while on active duty, Chap. I’m with you on that one.

Leave a Reply

