National Holidays

With everything that has transpired in the five years of the war in Iraq, its refreshing to read of the resilience of a proud people.  People who are hopeful for the future, and see the good that will come from the strife.

One can only wish to have such hope from those here at home.

“At the start of my journey I stopped by the newspaper seller to ask how he was after five years of change. He said: I will sum up what you ask in a few words. Despite everything that happened and is happening, I feel pride in the fact that the years of dictatorship are gone. There were no worse years than those, when we were afraid of our own shadows and our own children. I won’t claim that the situation now is ideal, but compared to the past, it is much better, without any comparison… Despite the sorrows I find in our present situation, I feel relieved. In the days [of the dictatorship] I didn’t feel optimistic. Now, I am optimistic about what is to come. What is happening now is passing; while it has gone on long, it will end – it could end in the twinkle of an eye.

 

This entry was posted in War and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

